Mayor and Members of Council Sworn-In at Memorable Ceremony


Back row from left to right:  Councilman at Large, David Bortolotto, Councilman at Large, Raymond Guttmann, Councilman, Ward 4, John Grech, Councilman, Ward 3, Michael Ference, Councilman, Ward 1,  Bill Meany, Councilman, Ward 2 Matthew McGregor

Front row from left to right: Honorable Judge Michael J. Russo, Clerk of Council, Mary Ann Meola, President of Council, Matthew Castelli, Mayor Gary W. Starr, The Honorable Judge Brendan J. Sheehan

Middleburg Heights started off the month of December by swearing in our Mayor of over 30 years, Gary W. Starr and all members of Middleburg Heights City Council in a memorable ceremony at City Hall.

The ceremony began with a Color Guard procession from Boy Scout Troop Number 636.  Pastor Dr. Steve Brown of Park Heights Baptist Church gave both the Invocation and Benediction.

The Honorable Brendan J. Sheehan administered the oath of office to Mayor Gary W. Starr and the Honorable Michael J. Russo administered the oath of office to newly elected Councilman of Ward 3, Michael Ference.  Both judges are from the Cuyahoga County Court of Common Pleas.

Mayor Starr then administered the oath of office to all other council members.  All Council members are listed below:

President of Council, Matthew Castelli

Councilman at Large, Raymond Guttmann

Councilman at Large, David Bortolotto

Councilman, Ward 1, Bill Meany

Councilman, Ward 2, Matthew McGregor

Councilman, Ward 3, Michael Ference

Councilman, Ward 4, John Grech

The ceremony closed with Councilman Raymond Guttmann leading all in song to “God Bless America, Land That I Love.”

There have been several changes in positions of city council members.  Please see the council portion of this website for all updates and contact information.

Mayor Starr said, “Middleburg Heights voters have elected a talented group of individuals dedicated to public service.  I look forward to working together with each of them on a variety of new programs and exciting new projects in our new term of office.”

Mayor Starr and all members of city council wish everyone a happy and prosperous new year!